Nendo Knowledge: Storage for the Financially Weak

If you’re a big-time Nendo collector, you may have a special place to store all of those cute mini figures. But, if you’re like me, average money and a small-time collector, you may consider some alternative options to store your Nendoroids. Here are a few methods which I’ve tried and read while browsing the Internet. The key point is to be as creative as possible. That cookie can you just threw out could be useful!

Deciding a permanent and temporary storage

There’s a large difference between these two types. Of course, permanent storage is where you’d put your Nendos on display or wherever you’d put them for long periods of time. Temporary storage would be the storage you use to carry you Nendos around. For the financially weak, you can use your permanent storage as temporary (if it’s small and versatile enough) or vice-versa. For the financially sufficient, a glass case would do. Or a medium-sized transparent drawer.

1. The original boxes

There’s a reason Nendos come in boxes. The original boxes are perfect permanent and temporary storages for Nendos. The blister packs keep everything in place and carrying the box around is quite simple. I’ve been sticking to this method for a while, but I’ve realized that these boxes are way too big and my room is just so small.

The original box, perfect for storing Nendos.
The original box, perfect for storing Nendos.

Pros:

  • Everything is neat and tidy until the time you take your Nendo out.
  • Boxes are relatively small in size, thus easy to carry around.
  • Blister packs provide protection for Nendos and safeguard those tiny parts.

Cons:

  • For some, the box takes up a lot of space, especially if you have a lot of Nendos.
  • It’s a hassle to carefully pull out the blister packs, take out the Nendo, take out the parts, and rearrange them once you’re done. Believe me, I once spent 10 minutes just trying to neatly rearrange the parts so it could fit in the box again.
  • For some, carrying the box around makes you look like an otaku. And it really takes up space in small bags.
  • These boxes are rather weak. If you’re looking to resell Nendos at a high price, there should be minimum damage to the boxes. Also, the boxes can’t stand water and humidity, and wear and tear.

Verdict

Great for permanent storage, not so good for temporary storage, especially if you take your Nendos outside often.

2. The toolbox

This is a fairly new method that I’m trying out and it’s working wonders for me. I can get rid of the large boxes and dedicate only a small amount of space for Nendos. Plus, I can place my Nendos on the lid! This is, by far, the best method of storing Nendos. All you need is a medium-sized container with small sections (or if you have the money, go buy a real toolbox) and you’re good to go.

DSC_0026
My very own Nendoro-Box (patent pending).

As you can see, it’s just a plain container with four mini-sections, pretty much like those food storage containers. One Nendoroid gets one cube, and the parts are stored in zipper bags so they don’t go anywhere. This container is as large as a medium bento box you see in anime. With this, I can take my whole Nendo family outside for photos. The container is quite sturdy too and it doesn’t take up too much space in my room.

Pros:

  • A great combination for those seeking permanent and temporary storage. You can place your Nendos on the lid when you’re not using the container and you can carry around a lot of Nendo’s at once without fear of anything getting messy.
  • It takes up less space than multiple boxes.
  • Depending on the size of your container, it’s pretty easy to carry around. Plus, people won’t think you’re nuts for carrying around boxes of figures.

Cons:

  • Could be a bit costly, especially if you bought a real toolbox. I got this one for free because it was just lying around the house.
  • Depending on the size, you can only store a limited amount of Nendos.

Verdict

A great in-between option if you want both types of storage at once. Just remember to safely wrap up your Nendos and arrange them neatly.

3. The separate pods

This is an option for those who like to store their Nendos separately, along with the accessories and parts. Tupperware containers  and tin cans are small enough to store one Nendo and its parts. Frankly, I use this method when I’m in need of small, portable storage to take on outings. Since I have a lot of small cardboard boxes lying around, I use those as reusable Nendo pods for carrying around one Nendo and a few parts. It’s quite useful to have at least one.

Pros:

  • Space-efficient and easy to carry around.
  • Provides quick access to Nendos on the go.

Cons:

  • Not a good choice for permanent storage. How would you display your Nendos then?
  • Cardboard boxes can’t stand pressure.

Verdict

A great way to take your Nendos on the go, but not a great way to store them permanently.

So, those are the three methods I’ve tried in attempts to provide my Nendos a place they can lie down and stay cute. Because if you can’t take care of them properly, they’ll cry. That I guarantee. There are other methods of storage too; why not see how other Nendoroid collectors store their precious petite figures? Thanks for your time and I hope this helps.

3 thoughts on “Nendo Knowledge: Storage for the Financially Weak

  1. I’m thinking of getting a glass case, but seeing as I’ve spent so much money this month, I probably won’t be getting one very soon.

    I originally kept a lot of stuff in the box, but then I heard that if you keep stuff in the box for too long it can actually be bad, as they get sticky for some reason. Also, like you said, it takes a lot of time to switch parts if everything is in the box.

    I’ve been wanting to take them out for shoots, but wasn’t too sure on the best way to transport them. The plastic containers seem like a great idea and I’m pretty sure I have a ton lying around the house!

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by again! 🙂

      Nendos get sticky when they stay in the box for too long because the plasticizers (a chemical used in the Nendo making process) evaporate. Since there’s no escape from a box, the plasticizers just stay there. That’s how you get the sticky layer. I read about it somewhere, I think it was the official GSC Mikatan’s blog.

      I’ve just made the change from box to containers, and I’ve found containers to be way more convenient. I highly suggest you try them out, especially if you’re planning to take your Nendos outside. Happy photo-shooting then!

      Like

Leave a Reply

