2013 in Memory: A Walk Down Remembrance Alley

A lot of things happened to me in 2013. I don’t have good long-term memory, so maybe I’ll start in reverse chronological order. 2013 has been an awesome year and it is, by far, one of those years which made me a better person. Here’s some of the memorable stuff:

December 2013

1. I finally won my first cosplay competition, even though I was a runner-up! With my Lyner Barsett costume, I managed to wow a hundred people at a small J-event in Bali.

2. My fourth break-up… and the most peaceful one as well. We remain on good terms.

3. Realized that I needed to read more books, so I bought Susan Cain’s Quiet: The Power of Introverts and Declan Haye’s Japan: The Toothless Tiger.

This is a really good book.

4. Took my first Chinese exam (HSK) level 2. I hope I pass…

5. Took a vow of celibacy; I shall not engage myself in relationships for an indefinite amount of time.

November 2013

1. Performed as Lyner Barsett at Hellofest 9 at Jakarta, but didn’t win shit. Still had an awesome time and met many new people.

Lyner Barsett at Hellofest 9.
Lyner Barsett at Hellofest 9.

October 2013

1. Started playing Agarest: Generations of War. Gave up after 20 hours due to tedious gameplay.

September 2013

1. Wrote a piece on cosplay which became famous overnight, causing many wars to erupt on the Internet and a lot of hate directed towards me! Yippee!

2. Started the new semester with high hopes, only to be bored to death halfway through.

August 2013

1. Obtained my fourth original Nendoroid, Hasegawa Kobato!

"No wait! I'm not ready yet! I still have to cuddle with An-chan!!!"
“No wait! I’m not ready yet! I still have to cuddle with An-chan!!!”

July 2013

1. I turned 20! And only a few people remembered my birthday…

2. Started playing DOTA 2 after months of waiting.

3. Obtained my third original Nendoroid, Hatsune Miku 2.0! (finally, after 6 months of waiting!)

First up, Miku's solo.
First up, Miku’s solo.

June 2013

Yeah, nothing seems to come to mind…

May 2013

Nothing comes to mind either…

April 2013

1. In a relationship with my best friend!

March 2013

1. Forgot my best friend’s birthday, she’ll never let me off the hook…

February 2013

1. Frequent mental breakdowns due to VERY harsh break-up with the person I fell in love with…

January 2013

1. Won first place in an academic writing competition! Yay, my first award in writing!

2. Preordered Hatsune Miku 2.0!

3. Dealing with severe mental breakdowns due to recent brutal break-up.

 

That’s my year. How was yours?

Leave a Reply

