You Never Really Know a City…

Yeah, this post isn’t about anime. It’s just a late-night thought that came to me after playing Thief. I’ll make it short.

So, you never really know a city till you’ve walked at least a total of six hours in it, across different neighborhoods. And that’s not counting the time on the bus and getting stuck in fucked-up traffic. In five hours, walk past the rich neighborhood, from sky-rise apartments with top-notch security and well-made houses with automatic gates and a security guard, into the middle-class areas, where people live in moderate-sized homes with just enough space for a car garage and a small garden, and finally, past the poor neighborhood, where people do laundry in the streets, shit into the river, and live amongst piles of garbage. Yeah, that’s Jakarta for you. A city rife in inequality, a city that basically says “fuck the people, we’re listening to big money”.

No wonder criminality rates are high and people’s stress levels are off the charts. I can’t blame them: they’re stuck in traffic, inhaling toxic fumes, and everything’s so fucking expensive.

If this kind of inequality goes further, we’ll get to a state where the 1 percent goes to live on Elysium while the 99 percent live in a godforsaken city. What can I do? I’m not an action type of guy. I just and watch. Observe as the world passes by me, pondering on its every detail.

There, that’s my dump for tonight.

One thought on “You Never Really Know a City…

  1. Yeah, I know what you mean. I’ve been to downtown Toronto a lot, but I had only really walked around the Theater District and Chinatown. Recently I’ve walked through different sections of the city and it’s sort of amazing how things change within a block or two.

    Personally I find it annoying when I hear about city workers who get paid extremely well going on strike, complaining that they don’t get enough and that they want more money. In contrast there are people busing like 5 hours to get to a minimum wage job everyday just to get by and provide for their families.

    Like

Leave a Reply

