Sakura Matsuri 2014: The Second Day

>> This is the 100th post on Ahotaku! Yaay! Bring out the champagne! <<


First things first. Sakura Matsuri is a J-event held by KAJI (Komunitas Alumni Jepang Indonesia), which an alumni community of Indonesians who went to college in Japan. The event has been held twice before, in 2012 and 2013 and I’ve been a loyal customer for three consecutive years (because the event venue is just a 30-minute bus trip away, 60 minutes in congested traffic). It is held in Lippo Cikarang, a business district in Cikarang. Go to Google Maps to find out where that is. Sakura Matsuri 2014 was held on 26-27 April 2014.

Yup, I attended the second day of Sakura Matsuri 2014 despite my tired legs and aching body. Because I’m a person who values his body, I decided to cosplay as simple as possible. The simplest costume in my wardrobe… you’ve guessed it, the dark, homicidal, couple-seeking, love-thirsty, scythe wielder, the FFF Inquisition. Also, I came armed with a DSLR and a Nendoroid just so I can partake in the Photography contest. Good news, I won second place!

Here’s some highlights:

  • So, here’s the photo which took home second place. A simple photo of Hinagiku gazing to the sky with a plastic sakura hanging above her. The meaning of the photo? Well, I tried to capture the essence of the “Sakura” in “Sakura Matsuri”, and since a blooming sakura represents a blooming girl (well, in my philosophic handbook it does), Hinagiku just fitted the bill perfectly. And when I knew that a Nendoroid photo by Ahotaku Photoroid managed to win a contest, I was so happy, I almost cried. Finally, an achievement unlocked: won a contest using a Nendoroid. Good job me, good job.
The second winner of Sakura Matsuri 2014 photography contest. Of course, this photo has been edited.
The second winner of Sakura Matsuri 2014 photography contest. Of course, this photo has been edited.
  • Speaking of photography, since my friends made up half (an exaggeration) the committee, I felt inclined to help them out in any way I could. They were in charge of the photography booth. It’s been two days and very few people were registering. So, being the good comrade I was, I volunteered to do some direct marketing. Armed with the attention-grabbing FFF costume, a Styrofoam plaque, a DSLR around my neck, and a handful of flyers, I scoured the event venue in search of gullible prey potential participants. The results? Quite satisfying. Many people decided to participate in the contest in the last minute.
The Walking Ad.
The Walking Ad.
  • The popular idol group, JKT48, was on stage that night. I’m not a huge fan of idols, but I just felt the need to add it to the highlights. Sadly, I wasn’t there to see it because I was already on the bus back home to my dreaded boarding house in Jakarta because I had work on Monday. Damn you, internship!
  • And finally, here are some photos from the event. I particularly love that Miku cosplay (which is why it’s taken at a low angle, if you get me)
Finally, a Miku and Mikuo in the same place!
Finally, a Miku and Mikuo in the same place!
This was a tricky shot, because the tree was a bit high and I didn't have live preview on my camera.
This was a tricky shot, because the tree was a bit high and I didn’t have live preview on my camera.
I'm doing them a favor by adding to their publicity.
I’m doing them a favor by adding to their publicity.
Hinagiku at the shrine.
Hinagiku at the shrine.
I see sakura~
I see sakura~

8

Best Miku at the event!
Best Miku at the event!

So, that wraps up Sakura Matsuri 2014! I hope I can participate next year, but next year I need to start my thesis… If possible, I’d like to whip out my Lyner armor at this event. I’ll be seeing you all at Miku Expo 2014 in Jakarta!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

