My Take on the New Snow Miku 2015 Design

My Snow Miku 2014 Nendoroid hasn’t even arrived yet, and they’re already making plans for Snow Miku 2015? God, save my wallet from these accursed money-milkers.

I’m not that huge a fan of Snow Miku (I prefer default and Racing Miku) but the 2014 design was just so hnggggg I HAD to get it. She struck my heart with a shard of ice-cute frost, that little icy devil.

A while back, Good Smile held a contest, accepting ideas for Snow Miku 2015. The results are in and we have a winner! This is what Snow Miku 2015 is going to look like:

Snow Miku 2015 design.
Snow Miku 2015 and Yukine 2015

And it’s going to be sold as a Nendoroid and also a Figma, too!

But I guess I just can’t bring myself to like the new Snow Miku 2015. Maybe it’s because I don’t understand the meaning behind her entire design being based on the Lily of the Valley. Is it a winter thing? I can’t tell, because I live in a tropical country. So, this is a quest to interpret Snow Miku 2015’s design and perhaps convince myself to empty my wallet. Damn you Good Smile!

Now, there are two parts of the Snow Miku nendoroid: Miku (duh) and her rabbit sidekick, known as Yukine. Let’s see Miku first.

Snow Miku’s design is based on a particular flower. That flower is known as the “lily of the valley” or Convallaria majalis for you Biology nerds, which looks like this:

What makes the flower so special? First, the flower does go best with a winter theme, since it is found in regions with cool temperatures like the northern hemisphere of Europe, Asia, and even the Appalachian Mountains in good ol’ America. See, Snow Miku’s apparel is based on the flower. As stated on GSC mikatan’s official blog, Taran (the mastermind of this design) made Miku’s headphones and skirt in the form of Lily of the Valley flower. And instead of a leek, she carries a stalk of neatly arranged lilies. Judging from the overall design of her robe (or whatever it’s called), it’s pretty clear that the designer had done a terrific job in making a winter outfit based on a flower. And the snow pattern on the rim of her winter cardigan (I don’t know what it’s called) is just beautiful.

But, wait, there’s more.

Call me a sissy, but I’m a believer of the symbolic meanings of flowers. The Lily of the Valley is written as 百合 in Kanji. You read that as “suzuran”. In Japan, there exists an art known as “Hanakotoba”, which literally means “the words of flowers”. The Lily of the Valley symbolizes sweetness and promises of happiness. I get the “sweet” part, because the overall design has a childish look to it and therefore, sweet. I’d say it looks like a flower fairy, very cute. And I can quite grasp the “promises of happiness” bit because let’s face it, her smile gives it away. And I imagine we (the buyers) are promised to be happy when we buy the Nendoroid. And I also imagine Good Smile being happy when this little devil sells out in less than a week. So, yeah, promises of happiness, check.

The previous Snow Miku was mostly bluish. This Miku is primarily white, with green, blue and red on the side. We all know that snow is white (unless you count that randomly suspicious spot of yellow snow I used to find during my way to school in Canada…) but is there a specific meaning behind Miku’s palette? We can’t know for sure unless we ask Taran in person.

So for now, we’re stuck with the psychological interpretation of the color white. The color white represents purity or innocence. I guess that goes well with Miku’s childish design and would go absolutely well with her Nendoroid form. She’s an innocent, pure, and sweet child playing in the snow with her pet rabbit. Awww~

On the other hand, white can also represent cold and blandness. Ouch. Winter itself is a cold and bland season. There’s nothing else than the color white all around you and not a lot of activity gets done in the winter (except if you live in Canada or Russia). I’d say that this interpretation goes pretty well with Miku’s winter theme.

Enough about Miku, let’s get to her rabbit sidekick, Yukine.

Yukine was designed by an awesome creator who goes by the name Hayuki.

One way to see Yukine is as a balance to Miku’s design. While Miku’s design captures the essence of a rather cold winter, Yukine’s design depicts warmth in winter. It’s in the description: “A warm set of colors to warm up the winter”. The rabbit wears a gentleman’s suit, a scarf made of (again) Lily of the Valley leaves, and carries a torch in the form of a lily of the valley flower. The rabbit’s apparel, from the scarf to the torch, shows that even in winter, warmth can be found. Let’s just hope Good Smile does a good paint job on the rabbit’s torch, making it translucent so I can install a small LED inside it for maximum photo awesomeness.

Or, if Miku’s design was childish, then Yukine’s is the exact opposite: rather sophisticated and more mature than Miku. This could mean that Yukine is like Miku’s guiding light (symbolized by the glowing flower torch) as she ventures the cold grasps of the winter.

Another way to see Yukine is for what it is. Yukine is Miku’s sidekick. Or friend, if you fancy that term. Yukine kinda reminds me of Disney’s anthropomorphized animals, like Jiminy Cricket. Playing in the snow alone couldn’t be fun for Miku, so she found a friend, Yukine, to play along with her. You could also think of Yukine as Miku’s familiar or even a pet.

Personal Verdict

I’d say that Snow Miku 2015 could be a cute Nendoroid to have. Although I do prefer the previous Snow Miku because of the magical-girl theme and her dazzling set of colors and gimmicks. But then again, my opinion may change (god save my wallet) once the prototype is published. So, I’ll be waiting until then.

P.S. Did I forget to mention that the Lily of the Valley is highly poisonous? I guess that’s another reason why Good Smile decided on this design, because it’s gonna poison collectors, making them unable to think rationally and seducing them to buy this Nendoroid and Figma…

Leave a Reply

