Hellofest 10 Day 1 Review

Hey there everyone! I just got back from Hellofest 10 and because I’m tired as fuck, let me keep this short. I’ll be discussing a short review of my itinerary there, the good and the not-so-good parts of the event, and then you can expect a bunch of photos (which you can also see on my FB page). Kay, let’s get this over with.

The only reason I went to Hellofest was to troll and buy shit. If you’ve seen the photos on my FB page, I was lurking around the event area carrying a piece of cardboard with “Your Waifu is Shit!” written on it in white paint. Don’t ask me why; the idea just came to me the night before the event. Turns out, holding a piece of cardboard with a provocative message yielded more photo requests and possibilities of engaging people, especially cosplayers, in conversation. So, next time you want cosplayer friends, perhaps what I did could be a suggestion.

10470803_10203110943965704_5937647724187609648_o

As for the “buying shit” part, I was looking forward to the tenth volume of re:ON comics. Why? Because my favorite comic series in it was ending. Yeah, I’m a huge fan of Big Slacker Baby. I also got to meet the author in person! She’s a really nice person; she signed a poster and my edition of re:ON comics. Oh yeah, I also trolled the mascots of re:ON comics. When they were interviewed, I was waiting for my stuff. Suddenly, I heard them being interviewed behind me. Then, still facing the counter, I lashed out my “Your Waifu is Shit!” sign behind them. I’ll be waiting for the shitstorm.

That's me with Annisa Nisfihani (headscarf), the author of Big Slacker Baby.
That’s me with Annisa Nisfihani (headscarf), the author of Big Slacker Baby.

Now on to the actual review.

The Good Parts

I’ve always been amazed at the sheer number of cosplayers registered at Hellofest. The numbers keep growing year by year. This year, there’s over 1000. Of course, that’s the expected amount. There weren’t that much today. Perhaps tomorrow, since tomorrow’s the Team Cosplay Competition.

The weather was really on my side. It was cloudy, which helped block Jakarta’s scorching heat. Even with the clouds, I was still sweating.

The amount of booths were astounding. It’s a good thing I’ve trained myself not to buy stuff on an impulse. But damn, there were a lot of juicy stuff. The food was not bad, too. But I skipped lunch.

The overall area was neatly arranged. Unlike last year’s messy arrangement, this year’s event are layout was neat, which in turn, allowed for more effective crowd control. Also, the changing room and the stage area was a great place to cool off thanks to the air-con. Unlike last year, this year’s changing room and stage was cool enough to support a bunch of sweating people.

The Not-So-Good Parts

Okay, here’s where I lash out the criticism, Ahotaku39 style.

The most important issue that I’ll discuss here is: the event’s payment method. Because the event was sponsored by one of Indonesia’s largest banks, we had to play by their rules. One of their rules: no cash transactions. NONE. AT ALL. The rule applied to all tenants and visitors and was made public two or three days prior to the event. Basically, what they did was force us to use “e-money” by making us purchase special cards which we could recharge with money. I love doing cashless transactions, but only if it’s reliable, like when paying for the TransJakarta bus. All things electronic have a tendency to malfunction, and that’s exactly what happened here.

Let me explain.

So I was in line to buy a card. FYI, I had to buy a 40K card that only had half that nominal in usable credits. When I was in line, the girl in front of me was taking a long time to recharge her card. Turns out that the connection was dead and the machine was stuck in limbo. The clerks were also baffled. That happened for like an hour or so. Disgruntled, I left and had a bit of fun with my friends. An hour passed. I returned to the booth, but found out that its balance had been totally exhausted. Okay, how exactly does this entire “e-money” thing work again? I had to find another charging booth. It was just after an hour I could finally recharge my card and buy the comic I wanted. If we were allowed to use cash, I would’ve had my comic in five minutes flat.

They must have underestimated the power of consumption.

What I would like to stress here is the question WHY. Why were we not allowed to trade using cash and instead had to use an unreliable system? I even heard from a visitor that he wanted to buy food, but couldn’t, because the lady at the counter didn’t know how to operate the machine. The fuck? Seriously? Weren’t you supposed to at least brief the tenants beforehand?

But on the bright side, I could regulate my expenses because my card would tell me if I don’t have enough money.

In the end, the cashless initiative became the event’s downfall (I exaggerate, of course) as it was the one flaw that people were pissed by.

The second issue… well, there’s that only one major flaw. Other than that, the event was quite good.

Gallery

All of these photos should be available on my FB page. But then again, you’d want the high-res ones, right? This goes without saying, but please, all of these photos belong to me, so if you would like to use them somewhere else, please tell me first. I’ll happily give you permission to use them, just tell me first. Don’t be a dick.

Even a desperate guy knows your waifu is shit.
Even a desperate guy knows your waifu is shit.
Because Mother Russia, cyka.
Because Mother Russia, cyka.
The best cosplay of Smitty Werbenjagermanjansen I've ever seen in my life.
The best cosplay of Smitty Werbenjagermanjansen I’ve ever seen in my life.
Yeah, the Vocaloid gang knows your waifu is shit.
Yeah, the Vocaloid gang knows your waifu is shit.
Best Miku there. But, is she supposed to be the Synchronicity version?
Best Miku there. But, is she supposed to be the Synchronicity version?
Where there's a will, there's a way. Such is the rule for cosplay. Now, what's your excuse?
Where there’s a will, there’s a way. Now, what’s your excuse?
Teitoku is shit.
Teitoku is shit.
It's great seeing someone trying to infuse Indonesian elements into cosplay.
It’s great seeing someone trying to infuse Indonesian elements into cosplay.
Best Pedobear ever.
Best Pedobear ever.
Spoiler: everyone dies.
Spoiler: everyone dies.
Now lolis, get in my sack!
Now lolis, get in my sack!
Pantsu is love, pantsu is life.
Pantsu is love, pantsu is life.
LOL
LOL

And that wraps up today’s review! Stay tuned for more tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

