Matters of the Heart and Cosplay: “Real-Fiction Character Bias”

On my FB page, I posted a status update re love and cosplay. I needed to let off some steam after a bout of real-life drama involving a cosplay performance and what better way to let off steam than reading about logical fallacies to make myself seem smarter than everyone else. Then I began spamming my page with a bunch of cognitive biases and fallacies related to cosplay. A fan asked me to expand on a particular one. The result is this post. And if things look good, I might as well start a lexicon of science-y terms to help understand the world of cosplay better.

Today, let’s talk about Real-Fiction Character Bias.

First, what the fuck is Real-Fiction Character Bias (RFCB)? I would love to provide a wall-of-text to elaborate it, but I know a majority of you are lazy fucks who don’t like reading. So, let me give it to you in the form of an example.

Please look at the photo of the following cosplayer. She is Neneko from Taiwan. And before any retards start bashing me for using their favorite cosplayer as an example, chill the fuck down; it’s to make a point.

Neneko from Taiwan. Click pic for sauce.

Isn’t she always lovely? Now confess. How many of you have had experienced infatuation when seeing her photos? Show of hands please. Don’t be shy, when I was starting cosplay, I kinda fell for her too. Her Kurumi cosplays are top-notch.

But then, as time passed, I suddenly began to realize that I wasn’t infatuated with Neneko herself; no, I was merely felt infatuated because she cosplayed a character I liked.

In simple English, I did not love Neneko; I was only in love with the characters she just happened to cosplay as.

And that folks, is called RFCB.  You mistake your love for a character as love for the person behind the character.

Is RFCB dangerous?

Well, that depends on you. There are times when RFCB can totally cloud your rational judgment, leading to bad decisions. And there are also times when you can harness the power of boners to not let RFCB misguide you.

I happened to have a friend who once made a bad decision because of RFCB (although he consistently denies the fact). I just hope he’s not reading this right now. So, this friend of mine is huge Maki Nishikino fan. You know, that tsundere cum-dump from the Love Live! series. Love Live! is shit, people, wake the fuck up! It’s just a capitalistic ploy to part your from your hard-earned cash and to lure you into a dark abyss of sacrificing your life for nine school-girls.

Ahem, I digress.

Ok, so my friend is a huge Maki fan. There was this Maki cosplayer he was trying to approach. Lucky him, they started dating… for a month. They broke up shortly after a month or so. Apparently, the girl was two-timing him. Things didn’t end well…

See how RFCB can be dangerous for your life? So let waifus stay in the 2D realm. Don’t let them out; they’ll destroy your laifu.

And if you want a funnier example of RFCB, check out this shit:

Best Valentine's day heart-crushing. Sauce: Bledek Yoga Ajiningrat.
Best Valentine’s day heart-crushing. Sauce: Bledek Yoga Ajiningrat.

Yep, the power of boners is strong indeed.

Avoiding RFCB

  1. Always remember, when in love, trust your brain; your heart is fucking stupid.
  2. Remember that there are no such things as waifus in real life; they belong in the 2D world. There’s a reason they can’t come out.
  3. Love the person, not the character.
  4. And if a girl you like just happens to cosplay as a character you like, stop using her photos online to masturbate, stalking her day and night, and commenting like a fucking pervert; instead, start getting to know her better.

And that concludes this first post on a bunch of things that might seem obvious on the surface, but when you dive deeper, becomes fucking hilarious. I might do another post on what it feels like to date a cosplayer. Now back to wasting my life on Civilization V.

Leave a Reply

